Fanny Davies International Piano Series: Luke Jones

1st Nov

'Luke Jones, an extraordinary young musician from Wales, opens with J. S. Bach in a traditional first half that culminates in the driven and yet lyrical “Waldstein” Sonata, one of the heroic sonatas of Beethoven’s middle period. After the interval, he presents the delicate and charming Sonatine by Ravel and two major Russian works: the well-known Second Sonata by Rachmaninoff, full of fire and passion, and the lesser known but equally wonderful Sonata Idyll by Medtner (Rachmaninoff’s classmate).

A Kawai artist, Luke Jones’ playing has been described as possessing “...extraordinary clarity and a seemingly infallible touch that reveals colours and atmospheres of the most sensitive of stylists…” (Christopher Axworthy). He is a prize-winner at several major international and has performed to critical acclaim with orchestras such as the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra of the Swan and Manchester Camerata.'

Kindly supported by The Swallow 2018 Charitable Trust and The Guernsey Arts Commission

Doors: 7pm | Music: 7.30pm

  • Contact

  • T: 01481 711360
  • E:
  • St James Concert and Assembly Hall College Street St Peter Port Guernsey GY1 2NZ

Discover More

Newsletter Signup